I'm confused...
Ok I went into work today, sat down to a sandwich, and was getting ready to clock in, in a few. Then the guy I have all the issues with comes in. Apparently he had the 10 am to 6 pm shift, and he didn't show up till about 5. So the manager talks with him, and he said he really didn't know that he was suppose to be in that early. So my manager comes and tells me to just go home for today and come in tomorrow on my day off. He gave the other guy my hours...... So being the useless stupid nice guy I am, I said OK.
Now I must be a moron, why help this guy out who causes all the damn problems, and bring down the guy that works circles around him? My hours were cut this week from 40 down to 32, and now next week my hours are down to 28. But that other guys are still at 40. Is there something wrong here? Do I really deserve to be treated so poorly? Have I really done something so wrong to deserve such treatment? Or is it because I am white, and the other 2 trouble makers are black? Are they worries that something might happen if they treat those 2 the way they deserve to be treated? Are they afraid they might get a lawsuit if they cut their hours? Even though they don't do good work? Maybe I should contact the labor board? Wonder if they would be able to help, or offer any advice in any way?
This is the kinda shit that makes me so sick.
Now I must be a moron, why help this guy out who causes all the damn problems, and bring down the guy that works circles around him? My hours were cut this week from 40 down to 32, and now next week my hours are down to 28. But that other guys are still at 40. Is there something wrong here? Do I really deserve to be treated so poorly? Have I really done something so wrong to deserve such treatment? Or is it because I am white, and the other 2 trouble makers are black? Are they worries that something might happen if they treat those 2 the way they deserve to be treated? Are they afraid they might get a lawsuit if they cut their hours? Even though they don't do good work? Maybe I should contact the labor board? Wonder if they would be able to help, or offer any advice in any way?
This is the kinda shit that makes me so sick.
2 Comments:
Stand up for yourself in a polite way. You have to think about it, rehearse it in the mirror or whatever. Just figure it out. A way to say “so, I came in on my work day, and you sent me home because of another guy” (DO NOT point fingers to who it was) “so, then I came in on my day off to do my hours, proving I’m willing to be flexible and work with everyone as a team.”
Then find out what you want, and ask “so, I was wondering, I would like a 3 day weekend to relax myself next week” or “so, it’s about time for my review, I hope you keep this in mind.” Or whatever…
Do keep being the good guy, but don’t become the doormat.
Thanks PC. And I did that too.
Post a Comment
<< Home